WhatsApp group admins will soon be able to delete messages for everyone: report
Meta-owned instant messaging app WhatsApp is working on a new feature that would allow group admins on WhatsApp to also delete messages from other group members.
According to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo, a user will see the message “This has been deleted by an admin” whenever an admin deletes a particular message.
“If you’re a group admin, you’ll be able to delete any message for everyone in your groups, in a future WhatsApp for Android beta update,” WABetaInfo said in a tweet.
The WhatsApp tracker also shared a screenshot with the tweet, showing how a message deleted by a group admin will appear to Android users. Once rolled out, it would be easier for group admins to remove obscene or objectionable posts.
WhatsApp is also developing the ability to add two-step verification to its desktop app and web version.
According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp plans to bring the two-step verification feature to desktop and web versions in a future update.
Two-step verification is already available on the mobile app version where a personal PIN must be entered when registering your phone number with WhatsApp.
(Only the title and image of this report may have been edited by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)