Local Cities and Counties Sign to Share Idaho’s Opioid Settlements | Idaho

BOISE – Attorney General Lawrence Wasden has announced that all eligible counties and cities in Idaho have committed to participating in two national opioid regulations.

On August 24, 2021, Wasden and Governor Brad Little announced their intention to join the settlements, which total up to $ 119 million for Idaho and participating counties and cities.

The total amount of funding for state, counties and cities depends on the number of eligible entities that commit to participate. A condition for receiving the maximum amount of funds available is that all 44 counties and 24 cities eligible to participate register. As of this week, all 68 eligible entities have now agreed to join the settlements, putting Idaho on track to receive the full $ 119 million.

“This level of participation shows the strong commitment of state and local governments to work together to get the most money to fight the opioid epidemic in Idaho,” Wasden said. “This result would not have been possible without the coordinated work of several organizations and local governments, including counties, cities and regional health districts, the Idaho Prosecuting Attorneys Association, the Idaho Association of Counties and the Association of Idaho Cities. Thank you to everyone involved for bringing us to this point.

Nationally, the deadline for local governments to join opioid colonies is January 26, 2022. Colonies are dependent on sufficient participation from local governments nationwide. An announcement indicating whether these thresholds have been reached is expected at the end of February 2022. Once the settlements are finalized, the participating entities could see their first payments as early as April 2022.

Under the Idaho Opioid Settlement Intra-State Allocation Agreement, opioid settlement funds will be divided, with 40% going directly to participating counties and cities and 20% to regional public health districts. The remaining 40% will be allocated to the state-run Opioid Settlement Fund, which will be allocated by the Idaho legislature based on recommendations from the Idaho Behavioral Health Council.

Eligible governments are:

Ada County, Idaho Idaho County, Idaho
Adams County, Idaho Idaho Falls City, Idaho
Ammon City, Idaho Jefferson County, Idaho
Bannock County, Idaho Jerome City, Idaho
Bear Lake County, Idaho Jerome County, Idaho
Benewah County, Idaho Kootenai County, Idaho
Bingham County, Idaho Town of Kuna, Idaho
Blackfoot Town, Idaho Latah County, Idaho
Blaine County, Idaho Lemhi County, Idaho
Boise City, Idaho Lewis County, Idaho
Boise County, Idaho Lewiston City, Idaho
Bonner County, Idaho Lincoln County, Idaho
Bonneville County, Idaho Madison County, Idaho
Frontier County, Idaho Meridian City, Idaho
Burley City, Idaho Minidoka County, Idaho
Butte County, Idaho Moscow City, Idaho
Caldwell City, Idaho Mountain Home City, Idaho
Camas County, Idaho Nampa City, Idaho
Canyon County, Idaho Nez Perce County, Idaho
Caribou County, Idaho Oneida County, Idaho
Cassia County, Idaho Owyhee County, Idaho
Chubbuck City, Idaho Payette County, Idaho
Clark County, Idaho Town of Pocatello, Idaho
Clearwater County, Idaho Post Falls City, Idaho
Coeur d’Alene City, Idaho Power County, Idaho
Custer County, Idaho Preston City, Idaho
Eagle City, Idaho City of Rexburg, Idaho
Elmore County, Idaho Shoshone County, Idaho
Franklin County, Idaho Star City, Idaho
Fremont County, Idaho Teton County, Idaho
Garden City, Idaho Town of Twin Falls, Idaho
Gem County, Idaho Twin Falls County, Idaho
Gooding County, Idaho Valley County, Idaho
Hayden City, Idaho Washington County, Idaho

Comments are closed.