Announcement of the winner of the Ministerial Awards for Women in Local Government 2021

Bronnie Taylor – Minister for Women, Minister for Regional Health, Minister for Mental Health
Wendy Tuckerman – Minister of Local Government

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

The winners of the Women in Local Government Ministerial Awards for 2021 were announced today, commemorating and celebrating the significant contribution of women to the sector.
Local Government Minister Wendy Tuckerman paid tribute to the winners at an awards ceremony at NSW Parliament House, thanking the winners for their efforts and contribution.
“I’m so proud to announce last year’s winners today and to thank these wonderful and inspiring women who contribute so much to our local government sector,” said Ms. Tuckerman.
“While the pandemic has delayed the recognition of the winners for their achievements, this in no way diminishes the major contribution to local government that the winners are making today.”
Women’s Minister Bronnie Taylor said the winners’ achievements underscore how much women contribute to our local councils.
“All of these impressive women are an example to everyone of excellence in public service, and I congratulate them and all of the nominees,” said Ms. Taylor.
“They have set very high standards, and I encourage everyone to ensure that other women who do great work in local government are also celebrated by nominating them for the 2022 awards.”

The winners of the 2021 Ministerial Awards for Women in Local Government are:
Alternative Routes Prizes – Metro
• Priscilla Felice, Trades Supervisor, Asset Maintenance, Waverley Council
Alternative Pathways Award – Regional/Rural
• Belinda Thomson, Vegetation Maintenance Supervisor, Lake Macquarie Town Council
Champion of Change Award – Metro
• Marnie Mitchell, Manager, People and Performance, City of Ryde Council
Champion of Change Award – Regional/Rural (Shared)
• Laura Black, Acting Chief Executive, Clarence Valley Council
• Helen McNeil, Group Leader, People and Performance, Rous County Council
Chosen One Award – Metro
• Councilor Clare Raffan, City of Canterbury Bankstown Council
Elected Representative Award – Regional/Rural
• Councilor Marion Browne, Broken Hill Town Council
Employment Diversity Award – Metro
• Wollongong City Council
Young Entrepreneur Award – Metro
• Kristyne Arneill, Support Officer, City of Canada Bay
Young Entrepreneur Award – Regional/Rural
• Shanon Gray, Junior Accountant, Lake Macquarie Town Council
Councilor Lillian Brady OAM Award (formerly Minister of Local Government Award for Women)
• Leanne Barnes OAM PSM, former Chief Executive of Bega Valley Shire Council

MEDIA: Rory Cunningham | Minister Taylor | 0454 674 099
Damien Bolté | Minister Tuckerman | 0498 359 624

Comments are closed.