Bills wins AFC East title with 27-10 victory over Jets | Sports News

By JOHN WAWROW, AP Sports Writer

ORCHARD PARK, NY (AP) – The Buffalo Bills won their second straight AFC East title after Devin Singletary scored twice in the final at 8:21 in a 27-10 victory over the New York Jets Sunday.

The Bills (11-6) enter the playoffs as the third seed in the conference, but had to wait for the outcome of the late game between the Los Angeles Chargers and the Las Vegas Raiders to determine who they host in the the next round of the playoffs. weekend.

Buffalo would face the Chargers if LA defeated Las Vegas. If the Raiders win, Buffalo will face the division rivals Patriots.

The Bills actually earned a spot in the conference standings, edging out Cincinnati after the Bengals’ loss (10-7) to Cleveland earlier today.

Political cartoons

The Bills limited the Jets to 53 total yards of attack and four first downs – the least allowed by Buffalo in franchise history. Buffalo has also sacked Jets rookie Zach Wilson nine times, the most Buffalo has since scored 10 in a 23-0 win over Washington on October 20, 2011.

The outcome, however, was not decided until the last quarter of an afternoon in which gusts of wind of up to 30mph wreaked havoc on passing and kicking games.

In a game the Bills never lagged behind, Singletary led the way by scoring on a back-to-back practice 4:28 apart.

Singletary gave the Bills a 20-10 lead by scoring on a 1-yard rush to top a 51-yard drive in seven games with 8:21 remaining. He followed that up by capturing a 5-yard touchdown pass from Josh Allen.

It was Singletary’s second straight outing of two touchdowns, giving him six in his last four games.

The Bills have won their Premier League title at home since 1995. Security officials kept fans from rushing onto the pitch by dismantling the goalposts in the west end, while keeping the goalposts on the pitch. ‘other side of the field.

Allen was 24 of 45 for 239 yards and two touchdowns, including a 10-yard touchdown pass to Stefon Diggs in Buffalo’s game opener.

The Bills won their fourth straight game and won back-to-back division titles for the first time in a four-year streak spanning 1988-91. Buffalo overcame an inconsistent mid-season streak in which it lost five of eight.

The focus is now on the Bills’ fourth place playoff spot in five years since the arrival of coach Sean McDermott and general manager Brandon Beane. Last year, the Bills had their biggest playoff run in 27 years losing to Kansas City in the AFC Championship game.

The Jets (4-13), under first-time head coach Robert Saleh, ended their sixth consecutive losing season – and the fifth with five or fewer wins by extending their record-breaking playoff drought deductible corresponding to the 11th consecutive year. It is also the longest active streak in the NFL.

Credit the Jets for not running for the bus by being knocked out of the playoffs a long time ago. While their offense faltered, the Jets’ defense held Buffalo to 13 points and forced five three-and-outs in three quarters.

The Jets offense was also worn down by injuries to missing receivers Elijah Moore (quadriceps), Corey Davis (mid muscle) and Braxton Berrios (quadriceps), then lost Jamison Crowder in the second quarter to a calf injury. .

Wilson finished 7 of 20 for 87 yards, with a 40-yard touchdown pass to Keelan Cole, who reduced the score to 10-7 with 3:51 left in the second quarter. The second pick in the draft has finished the season without an interception throw in his last five games.

Matt Haack finally had a punt chance. His 42 yards halfway through the second quarter was his first punt since 40 yards with 10 minutes remaining in a 31-14 win over Carolina on Dec. 19.

The Bills played the next two games without attempting a punt, and were able to become the first NFL team since at least 1945 to play three straight games without attempting a punt. Haack’s next two punts, after three consecutive and-outs, covered 21 and 23 yards in gusty 20-30 mph.

Bills: Host a wildcard playoff match next weekend.

More AP NFL: and and

Copyright 2022 The Associated press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments are closed.